New Read: ‘Sorry’ by Zoran Drvenkar

I was perusing the internet, as you do, when I received an email from Think German; a lovely website dedicated to the promotion of the German language in the UK.  Every so often, in collaboration with New Books in German, Think German recommend and review translated German literary fiction titles. This time, it’s the turn of ‘Sorry’ by Zoran Drvenkar, a Croatian German novelist. 

In ‘Sorry’ a group of friends in Berlin who are down on their luck, decide to establish an agency that apologises for misdeeds on the behalf of other people. Soon, a shady underworld gang gets in on the action and the friends find themselves embroiled in a series of gruesome events; from which there appears to be no reprieve.

When I read the review from New Books in German, I knew I had to read it. So I casually downloaded it onto my Kindle (I am a Kindle fan, folks. I find it very useful for a number of reasons and I still buy as many print books as I ever did…) and suffice to say, I am very excited to get stuck in.

I think there are a great many young (-ish) German authors who are pushing the boundaries of modern literary fiction (depending on your personal tastes, of course) and I for one, am excited to get in on the action. I would recommend, for those not faint of heart, ‘Feuchtgebiete‘ and ‘Schossgebete’ by Charlotte Roche and ‘Axolotl Roadkill’ by Helene Hegemann. ‘Feuchtgebiete’ (‘Wetlands’ is its translated title) is widely available in English, and I believe, though don’t quote me, that ‘Schossgebete‘ and ‘Axolotl Roadkill‘ translations are set to be released in 2013.

‘Das Maedchen’ (‘The Girl’) by Angelika Kluessendorf, an unflinching story of a girl’s brutal and uncompromising upbringing, also looks excellent. I shall have to save my pennies, methinks, and order in a lovely brand-spanking new print edition from Germany.

(p.s. for non-German speakers the use of ‘ae’ in ‘Maedchen’ and ‘ue’ in ‘Kluessendorf’ represents the German Umlaut, you know, the two little dots that go over certain vowels…i’ve just figured out how to insert an umlaut in WordPress but to be honest, I would have to change some of my links, so thought this explanation would suffice!)

Ta!

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Read: ‘Sorry’ by Zoran Drvenkar

  1. Katy Derbyshire

    Congratulations on your new blog, it looks like you’re going to have fun! I just wanted to point out/plug my translation of Axolotl Roadkill, which is actually out already: http://goo.gl/XT0z8
    I really really love the book and I’m glad to see you liked it too. Schossgebete I wasn’t as mad keen on as Feuchtgebiete, but you’re definitely right that it’s coming out in 2013, translated by Tim Mohr.

    Reply
    1. booksandting Post author

      Thanks for letting me know, Katy-much appreciated! I hated Feuchtgebiete when I first read it, but after a couple of re-reads, I like it more. I think it’s a grower, for sure. I am making my way through Schossgebete currently and the jury is most definately out on that one at the moment..!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

