Stephen King Fanzine: Call for Submissions

As you may have gathered, I like writing. I’m not going to pretend that I’m the internet’s next best thing, or a novelist-in-hiding, because I’m not. I’m an ordinary person, with a time-consuming and underpaid job and bills to pay. I’m not going to quit my job,  nor am I going to delude myself that writing is going to make me a lot of money, if any.

I would like my hobbies to be untainted by thoughts of money-making because that only leads to disappointment, as my foray into craft fairs has proved. I don’t think I can ever knit another uterus again without feeling a tang of bitterness…anyway!

My green uterus and I...

My green uterus and I…

I’m not some self-hating nihilist either, just so you know! Just realistic, innit.

I’ve embarked on a couple of writing projects in my time, some moderately successful, (successful in the sense that a couple of folk have taken the time to read my stuff), and some have been a little slow in making any kind of impact (e.g. Women of Swansea).

(I haven’t given up on Women of Swansea, FYI. I am planning a reboot of the project early next year so keep yer eyes peeled.)

I write regularly for SFN‘s Pandora Press zine (you can read #1 +2 online here) so I have decided to take the plunge and embark on a little zine-making adventure of my own.

So what do I feel passionate enough about to warrant making my own zine? Well, obviously I feel passionate about a lot of things: feminism, pugs, tattoos, baking, caring, knitting, reading, writing, horror, current affairs, my family, language…Stephen King…AHHHHAAA!

WUNDERBAR!

Stephen frickin’ King. My favourite author.

I am skint but zines are easy and relatively cheap to make. I have lots of friends and associates who like Stephen King and can contribute. I have friends who are expert zine-makers so I can nag them for advice. I like being creative. I like writing. I like writing things about Stephen King (see: ‘SK and Feminism’ on this fair blog). THIS CANNOT GO WRONG.

So dear readers, if you feel compelled to contribute anything to this strictly DIY project of mine, contact me at: stephenkingfanzine at gmail dot com for more information. I would like to get the zine finished by February 2013 so get your butts in gear and send something in. I can’t send out a free copy to everyone though, so you might have to chuck me a few quid via PayPal.

Some ideas:

-book/film adaptation review
-Top 5/Top 10 books/film adaptations
-favourite character/s and why
-favourite SK quotes
-flash fiction
-poetry
-artwork
-why do you like SK in under 100 words
-representation of women in his work
-use of language in his work
-bad/good film adaptations
-guilty pleasure?
-recommendations for first time readers
-opinion pieces on some aspect of SK’s work
The man himself. I obviously didn't take this picture, FYI.

The man himself. I obviously didn’t take this picture, FYI.

If no-one contributes then it’ll just be my own fan-girl splurge, and that’d be a bit boring, so you might as well take part too.
I hope it will be splendiferous.
I would just like to say that I am not some crazed stalker-type. I won’t be flying over the New England any time soon to pop a copy of the fanzine through King’s letterbox or lurk around in some bushes waiting for the bloke to go out for a pint of milk. I am sure he’s a very nice person but there’s going to be no Annie Wilkes action around here so don’t be crazy, either.
Hope to hear from you soon, King fans!
One thought on “Stephen King Fanzine: Call for Submissions

  1. Pingback: Upcoming gigs, & a few of my favourite things. | Here. In My Head.

Leave a Reply

